Share this article


RBI Imposes ₹ 5 Crore Penalty On Four PSU Banks Over Violation Of Banking Norms


The Reserve Bank of India has imposed a penalty amounting to ₹ 5 crores of four Public Sector Banks (PSU) for violating various banking norms. The list includes SBI and Corporation Bank as well 

The monetary penalty on the banks has been imposed for non-compliance with various directions issued by RBI on monitoring of end use of funds, exchange of information with other banks, classification and reporting of frauds, and on restructuring of accounts, RBI said in a statement.

A penalty of Rs 2 crore has been imposed on Corporation Bank and Rs 1 crore each State Bank of India (SBI), Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India.

The RBI, however, added the fines are based on deficiencies in regulatory compliance and is not intended to pronounce upon the validity of any transaction or agreement entered into by the banks with their customers.